“Run for the Son” sets new attendance record

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, March 31, 2004

By GEORGE MAHL – Sports Editor

It was a day of records in the fourth annual “Run for the Son” 5K race and one-mile fun run/walk, held Saturday, March 27 at St. Charles Catholic. With over 175 participants in the race, a new record of total runners and walkers was established.

Chris Costantini, a 2002 graduate of SCC, won the 5K tace for the second year in a row. He set a new course record with a time of 19:24.

Kayla Stricker of Poplaville, Mississippi won the 5K in the female division. Jared Nowell, a sophomore at SCC, won the mile race with a time of 5:42, while Brittany Vicknair, a senior at SCC, set a new course record in the mile in the female division with a time of 7:01.

Top ten finishers in the 5K male division were Ken Massett (20:05) Gregg Simon (20:12), Michael Pecoraro (21:34), Anthony Stricker (22:05), Richard Holmes (22:45), Shane LeBlanc (22:56), Jason Rauch (22:56), Chip Gros (23:26), Michael Troglen (24:07).

Top ten finishers in the 5K female division were Christi Stricker (27:47), Ana Faucheaux (30:10). Kelly Callahan (30:13), Theresa Fisse (30:42), Leslie Bailey (30:44), Debbie Carmouche (34:06), Jenny Lind (35:38), Christine Klibert (36:20) and Denise Courrege (39:47)

Top ten finishers in the one mile male race division after Nowell and Edwards were Matt Heltz (5:45), Michael Macaluso (5:46), Casey Robottom (6:01), Mike Oncale (6:02), Anthony Strickland (6:03), Mathew Walters (6:06), Jaques Clement (6:15), Corey Clay (6:23), Jeremy Catoire (6:30).

Top ten finishes in the one-mile female division after Vicknair were Elise Loisel (7:15), Felicia Taylor (7:22), Angelle Cupit (7:59), Ashley Springer (8:12), Marie Cupit (8:18), Cliare Loisel (8:18), Ashley Brocato (8:19), Kimberly Schexnayder (8:21) and Amanda Kinchen (8:20).

Winners by age category in the 5K race were as follows, Anthony Stricker and Christine Stricker (0-13), Michael Pecoraro and Sarah Dunne (14-18), Jason Rauch and Kelly Callahan (19-29), Shane LeBlanc and Denise Courrage (30-39), Ken Massett and Ana Faucheux (40-49), Richard Holmes and Jenny Lind (50-59). The oldest runner award was presented to Sheldon Vice.

Proceeds benefitted the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

Over 100 awards and prizes were given out after the race, which was sponsored by area businesses.