Inaugurations set for Monday

Published 12:00 am Friday, January 9, 2004

By LEONARD GRAY Staff Reporter

LAPLACE – Plans are set for inaugural ceremonies Jan. 12 across the River Parishes.

St. John the Baptist Parish

Mass is planned at 10 a.m. at St. John the Baptist Catholic Church, Edgard, presided by the Rev. Joel Cantonez.

Ceremonies will continue at the St. John the Baptist Parish Courthouse next door for 11 a.m, where Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Thomas Daley will act as master of ceremonies.

Louisiana Supreme Court Justice John Weimer will administer the oath of office to Parish President Nickie Monica, and the 40th Judicial District judges, Mary Hotard Becnel, Madeline Jasmine and J. Sterling Snowdy will administer the oaths of office to the Parish Council members.

An inaugural gala is set that evening at East St. John Elementary School, 400 Ory Drive, LaPlace, 6-9 p.m.

St. Charles Parish

Mass will be conducted at 10 a.m. at Our Lady of the Holy Rosary Catholic Church in Hahnville by the Rev. Bernard Francis. Inaugural ceremonies are planned in front of the courthouse at 11: 30 a.m.

Master of ceremonies will be the Rev. Henry LeBoyd of New Jerusalem Baptist Church, and featured guest speaker will be Congressman Billy Tauzin.

Oaths of office will be administered as follows:

Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Edward A. Dufresne Jr. for Parish President Albert Laque, Justice of the Peace John Marino Jr. for Councilman Lance Marino, the Rev. Bernard Francis for Councilman Clayton Faucheux, 29th Judicial District Judge Emile St. Pierre for Councilman Desmond Hilaire, U.S. District Judge Mary Ann Vial Lemmon for Councilman Brian Fabre, Justice of the Peace L.J. Frickey for Councilman Derryl Walls, retired Louisiana Supreme Court Associate Justice Harry Lemmon for Councilmen G. “Ram” Ramchandran and Barry Minnich, retired 29th Judicial District Judge Ruche Marino for Councilman Dickie Duhe and Constable Stephen Black for Councilwoman April Black.

The organizational meeting is set immediately following the swearing-in ceremony. The first business meeting is set Jan. 13 at 6 p.m.

St James Parish

Ecumenical services, 11 a.m., St. Michael the Archangel Catholic Church in Convent, presided by the Rev. Frank Uter.

Justice Weimer is also due to administer the oaths of office to the St. James Parish President, Dale Hymel Jr., and the parish council at the church.

Following the ceremony, a reception and brief council meeting will be held to select the council chairman and vice-chairman and appoint department heads.