ESJ basketball honored

Published 12:00 am Friday, May 19, 2000

L’Observateur / May 19, 2000

RESERVE – East St. John held an awards program to honor its boys’ and girls’basketball teams Tuesday, May 2, at the school.

The girls’ basketball team won its fourth straight district title this season and advanced to the regionals for the fourth consecutive season.

For the boys’ team, the Coaches Award went to Raynell Joseph and Lawrence Johnson. The Most Improved award went to Lawrence Taylor, Darwin Pittmanand Michael Brown.

Sam Martin was named the Outstanding Offensive Player. Floyd Smith wonthe award as Outstanding Defensive Player. Smith and Louis Gardner werealso the recipients of the Wildcat Award. Wayne Mendoza was selected asthe team’s MVP.

All seniors received a plaque at the banquet.

For the girls’ team, Dianna Mattos was awarded the Coaches Award for Dedication. Kavonna Reese received a basketball in recognition of herbecoming a member of the 1,000-point club and for being the first player to have started in 100 victories over her career.

Gininna Louis also received a basketball recognizing her as a member of the 1,000-point club and as the school’s career leader in steals.

Each member of the varsity team was given plaques with a picture of the team and a description of the 1999-2000 season. A highlight film of theseason was also shown.

Return To Sports Stories

Copyright © #Thisyear# Wick Communications, Inc.Best viewed with 4.0 or higher