AOL celebrates athletic banquet

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, May 17, 2000

MICHAEL KIRAL / L’Observateur / May 17, 2000

LAPLACE – “We are not saying that we can do this work ourselves. It is Godwho makes us able to do all that we do.”That passage from 2 Corinthians 3:5 was the theme of Ascension of Our Lord’s 14th annual Athletic Celebration Friday night at the school.

The school celebrated a year in which the girls’ varsity White volleyball, boys’ Blue varsity football and Blue junior varsity football teams won River Parish championships and advanced to the Catholic Schools Athletic League playoffs.

The girls varsity basketball, boys varsity basketball, boys junior varsity basketball and boys varsity baseball teams all finished as River Parish runners-up. The girls varsity basketball team also won first place at the OurLady of Grace tournament and second place at the River Parish League tournament while the boys varsity basketball team was second at the River Parish League tournament.

Of the school’s 140 students, 130 played at least one sport.

“These kids have been great and we are here to honor them,” assistant athletic director Karen Verbeek said.

The school also honored the 33 coaches that Verbeek said made it possible for 130 athletes to participate this school year. Those coaches were MikeAbbate, Remy Amedee, Rob Burns, Joe Caldarera, Pete Cangelosi, Ron Dallimore, Karen Duffy, Greg Englert, Brad Emerson, Victoria Gamble, Shanon Graver, Andree Gurdian, Kelly Hane, Chris Heltz, Vicky Heltz, Tina Jeandron, Carly Kosztolanyi, Dana Kosztolanyi, Bryan Landry, Kathleen Lambert-Oswald, David LeBlanc, Wayne LeBlanc, Romona Lockwood, Kenny Louque, Andrew McKnight, John McKnight, Mike Pecoraro, Gary St. Pierre, Nolan Schexnayder,Mark Tamplain, JoAnn Torres, Karen Verbeek and Becky Weber.

Athletes were presented with awards for playing in one, two and three sports. Special awards were also presented in each sport.The first group to be honored was the pep squad. First year members KelseyTatje, Dara Brady, Chelsea Sanchez, Angelika Licata, Amanda Vanderbrook, Rebecca McClung, Kayla Butler, Chelsea Christy and Richelle Lyons received pins and certificates.

Receiving medallions with blue and white ribbons were second year members Sarah lambert, Jenna Milioto, Danielle Dallimore, Ashley Bratcher, Melissa Newman, Lauren Williams, Abby Caldarera, Kristen Louque, Ellen Morgan and Ashley Brocato.

Next up was the 18-team cheerleading squad. Receiving bottles as first teammembers were Mandi Lockwood, Katie Fisse, Sarah M. Babin, Enjoli Stipe,Rashide Swafford, Kristen Hoover, Jennifer Thornton, Lindsay Torres, Celeste Varnam, Jessica Himel, Melissa Giangrosso, Kristen Falterman, Amber Baker, Mary Comiskey, Danielle Keller and Kristine Lorio. Receivingembroidered bags were second year members Elise Matherne and Colleen Vallee.

In girls volleyball, Kristi Gullo was named the Most Improved player on the Blue team. Lindsay Torres received the Coaches Award while Renee Dupuywas named the MVP.

For the White team that went undefeated and advanced to the playoffs, Jessica Himel was selected as the Most Improved. Melissa Gurdian receivedthe Coaches Award while the Team Worker Award was awarded to Susan Dixon. Alex Torres and Brittany Vicknair were named the team’s MVPs.The Blue flag football team went 9-1 during the 1999 season. The CoachesAward went to Joel Emerson with Daniel LeBlanc being chosen the Most Improved along with James Arruebarrena. Michael Pecoraro was named thebest offensive player while Ryan Guillot received the award for defense.

For the White flag football team, Curtis Taylor received the Coaches Award.

Dwight Jackson was selected as the Most Improved. The best offensiveplayer was Jesse Martin with Mark Murphy receiving the award for defense.

The girls’ basketball team was 17-3 in 1999-2000. Amber McIntosh receivedthe Most Improved award while Brittany Vicknair was named the best offensive player. Heather Gamble was named the best defensive player.The boys’ basketball team was 9-1 this past season. The Coaches Awardwent to Jimmy Mustian while Larry Giles was named Most Improved. DanielLeBlanc was the recipient of the best defensive player award while Michael Pecoraro received the award for offense.

For girls softball, Kristen Falterman was named the Most Improved. HeatherGamble was awarded the Coaches Award while Brittany Vicknair was named the MVP.

The baseball team went 8-1-1 in 2000. The Coaches Award went to JimmyMustian while Michael Pecoraro was named the Most Improved. Daniel LeBlancwas selected as the Top Hitter with James Arruebarrena named the MVP.

Managers Awards also went to Nicholas Smith and Michael McClung.

The Christian Sportsmanship Award was presented by the Rev. BenjaminPiovan to Jessica Himel and Jimmy Mustian. Principal Carole Elliot presentedthe Academic Athlete Award, given to the athletes with the highest grade pint average, to Melissa Gurdian and James Arruebarrena. Brittany Vicknairand Michael Pecoraro were the recipients of the Athlete of the Year awards.

A Special Service award was awarded to Peter Cangelosi. Thanks was alsogiven to Joe Caldarera for the donation of his time, services and equipment to upgrade the baseball and softball fields.

Return To Sports Stories

Copyright © #Thisyear# Wick Communications, Inc.Best viewed with 4.0 or higher