Authement voted council chairman

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, January 12, 2000

LEONARD GRAY / L’Observateur / January 12, 2000

HAHNVILLE – The organizational meeting of the St. Charles Parish Councilbegan with split 5-4 votes over the council leadership and ended with Terry Authement as council chairman and Darnell “Dee” Abadie as vice- chairman.

Voting for Authement as chairman were Authement, Barry Minnich, Desmond Hilaire, Brian Fabre and Lance Marino. The other candidate was”Ram” Ramchandran.

Voting for Abadie as vice-chairman were Abadie, Ramchandran, Hilaire, Clayton Faucheux and April Black.

From there, it was smooth sailing, with a unanimous vote for continuing with Joan Becnel as council secretary, a position she has held since June 1980.

Also approved were the meeting schedule, council rules, expense regulations and a host of appointments of council members to various boards and commissions.

Brian Fabre was appointed an ex-officio member to the Planning and Zoning Commission. Desmond Hilaire was appointed an ex-officio memberto the Housing Authority.

Hilaire and Clayton Faucheux were appointed to the Community Action Advisory Board. Faucheux, Fabre, Hilaire, Black, Ramchandran and Minnichwere appointed to the Joint Airport Committee.

Abadie was named to the South Central Planning and Development Commission and also to the River Region Caucus, along with Ramchandran.

Alternate members to the River Region Caucus are Minnich and Authement.

Lance Marino was named to the MetroVision Partnership Foundation and the Historic River Road Commission. Minnich and Black were also named tothe RSVP Advisory Council.

Their first business meeting was planned Tuesday night. Among the itemsof business were confirmation of Laque’s department heads.

Return To News Stories