Williams, Parquet named all-State

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 29, 1999

L’Observateur / December 29, 1999

BATON ROUGE – Two of District 7-5A’s finest, East St. John’s Roy DelWilliams and Destrehan’s Jeremy Parquet, were named to the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A all-State football team recently.

Parquet, one of the state’s top rated offensive tackles, helped Destrehan capture its fourth-straight district title and finish 8-3 on the season. The6-7, 335-pound senior was also selected to the coaches’ all-State squad after helping the Wildcats pass for 3,079 yards and rush for another 1,242.

Williams was also one of the top-rated players at his position. The seniorwide receiver returns to the all-State squad for the second straight year after catching 61 passes for 1,341 yards and 20 touchdowns. Williams’performance helped East St. John advance to the state regionals with an8-4 record.

The man getting the ball to Williams, senior quarterback Floyd Smith, was named to the honorable mention team.

Smith came back from an early-season injury to complete 129 of his 272 passes for 2,524 yards and 31 touchdowns. He also carries 63 times for127 yards and three touchdowns.

East St. John wide receiver Chris Bush also made the honorable mentionteam. Bush, a senior, caught 31 passes for 565 yards and six touchdownsin 1999.

Place kicker Billy Hogan was the third Wildcat to be selected honorable mention. Hogan made all 54 of his extra points and seven-of-10 field goalsin scoring 75 points.

The Destrehan defense had two members selected to the honorable mention team.

Senior defensive lineman Damien Richard, the River Parishes and district defensive MVP, was named after recording 82 tackles, 73 solo, eight sacks, 16 tackles behind the line of scrimmage, three pass breakups, two caused fumbles and two fumble recoveries.

Senior defensive back Danny Krieger was also named honorable mention after leading the River Parishes with 10 interceptions. He also had 13tackles, one fumble recovery and two pass breakups.

Brock Berlin of state champion Evangel was named the state’s offensive MVP. The senior quarterback completed 201 of his 337 passes for 3,012yards and 28 touchdowns in being named all-State for the third straight year.

Ruston senior linebacker Robert Peace was the state’s defensive MVP.

Peace recorded 107 tackles, 14 tackles behind the line and four sacks in 1999.

The Coach of the Year was Catholic’s Dale Weiner. Weiner led the Bears toa 11-3 record and their second straight appearance in the state semifinals.

Others making the all-State offensive team were Catholic receiver Richie Zimmerman; Ruston tight end Josh Joerg; Airline tackle Thomas Butler; Sulphur center Michael Laborde; guards Dentrick Chretien of LaGrange and Lance Wright of West Monroe; running backs Reggie Maxwell of Ruston, Mewelde Moore of Belaire and Derron Parquet of Rummel; and Covington place kicker John Marino.

Completing the defensive team were linemen Jonathan Chretien of LaGrange, Stevie Lee of Evangel, Bennie Mills of Rummel and J.R. Hayden ofWest Monroe; linebackers Marvin Jones of Hammond, Matt Latino of St.

Amant and Tyler Satterhwaite of Evangel; defensive backs Erick Franklin of LaGrange, Lawrence Atkinson of Airline, Ahmad Treaudo of Warren Easton and Corey Brazil of West Monroe; and South Lafourche punter Gavin Buffinet.

Phillip Geiggar of Evangel was the kick returner and Shyrone Carey of Shaw was the athlete.

Return To Sports Stories

Copyright © 1998, Wick Communications, Inc.

Internet services provided by NeoSoft.

Best viewed with 3.0 or higher