Gauthier, Remondet, Trosclair among best in state

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 22, 1999

MICHAEL KIRAL / L’Observateur / December 22, 1999

BATON ROUGE – West St. John quarterback Carl Gauthier capped amemorable career with a slection to the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 2A All-State football team released recently.

Gauthier was the Most Valuable Player of the Class 2A championship game in 1998 after leading the Rams to the state title and followed that up this season by being named the Offensive Player of the Year in District 9-2A.

The senior completed 194 of his 327 passes for 2,848 yards and 34 touchdowns in 1999. Gauthier also ran 83 times for 462 yards and seventouchdowns and accounted for 3,306 yards, 41 touchdowns and 270 points.

Joining Gauthier on the first team were two Riverside Rebels making repeat appearances on the team. Senior running back Casey Remondet andsenior offensive tackle Joe Trosclair both made the Class 2A team in 1998.

Remondet averaged 9.1 yards per carry in rushing for 1,250 yards and 18touchdowns in 1999. Trosclair, called the best lineman to come out of theschool, helped the Rebels average over 300 rushing yards a game.

Vidalia senior running back Dariel Mays was selected as the Outstanding Offensive Player after leading Class 2A with 2,125 yards and 34 touchdowns on 254 carries.

The Outstanding Defensive Player was Port Barre senior linebacker Maurice Sonnier who had 87 solo tackles, 10 hits behind the line, six sacks and seven forced fumbles for the state runners-up.

Rick Wriborg was the Coach of the Year after leading Iota to its first state championship with a 14-1 record.

Others earning first team honors on offense were wide receivers Raymond Mason of Christian Life, Ronnie Williams of Springfield and Will Walter of Newman; Many offensive tackle Brandon Troquille; Christian Life center Ryan Phillips; guards Chris Duhon of Vermilion Catholic and Rudy Niswanger of Ouachita Christian; Many running back Darnell Williams; and Port Barre place kicker Mike Courville.

The rest of the defensive first team consisted of defensive linemen Justin Romero of Vermilion Catholic, Mike Napoli of Westminster and Cody Deaville and J.B. Harp of Iota; linebackers Chad Womack of St. HelenaCentral, Bret Boudreaux of Vermilion Catholic and Mike Hecker, the District 9-2A Defensive MVP, of Newman; defensive backs Frank Warfield of Many, Steffan Primeaux of Vermilion Catholic, Kyle Richey of Iota and Neco Shine of Jonesboro-Hodge; and Opelousas Catholic punter Tommy Hebert. Many’s Isom Scott was the kick returner and Springfield’s StevenErdey the athlete.

Return To Sports Stories

Copyright © 1998, Wick Communications, Inc.

Internet services provided by NeoSoft.

Best viewed with 3.0 or higher