Races heating up in River Parishes

Published 12:00 am Monday, September 13, 1999

LEONARD GRAY / L’Observateur / September 13, 1999

RIVER PARISHES – Qualifying ended Thursday for the fall elections for parish government offices and state senate and representative seats.

In the area legislative races, Sen. Louis Lambert, Rep. Bobby Faucheux andRep. Glenn Ansardi won new terms, as they were unopposed.Likewise unopposed were St. Charles Parish Sheriff Greg C. Champagne,who will commence his second term, St. James Parish Clerk of CourtEdmond Kinler Jr., and the coroners in each of the River Parishes, includingDr. David Vial in St. Charles Parish, Dr. Christy Montegut in St. John Parishand Dr. Carl Poche in St. James Parish.In the three River Parishes, only St. James District 1 Councilman ElwynBocz was re-elected without opposition among all Parish Council members. St. Charles Council member Dee Abadie was appointed lastspring to the position and was also elected without opposition.

In the 19th Senate District, incumbent Ron Landry will face Rep. JoelChaisson II. Meanwhile, five candidates have qualified for Chaisson’spresent seat, including St. Charles Councilman Brian Champagne, BillGallardo Jr., former St. Charles School Board member Mike Henderson, Dr.Kenneth Pace and Gary Smith Jr.

Rep. Roy Quezaire of Donaldsonville faces two challengers – Nolan “Billy”Guillot and A. Wayne Lawson.ST. CHARLES PARISHWith no incumbent running, four candidates are contending for the parish president’s job, including former councilman Donald Hogan, former Parish President Albert Laque, Archie Mollere and recreation director Rusty Rebowe.

Assessor Clyde “Rock” Gisclair is challenged by Earl Clements and Clerk of Court Charles Oubre Jr. is challenged by Hershel Langley.The St. Charles Parish Council will shuffle the deck in the fall elections,as Division A Councilman at Large G. “Ram” Ramchandran is challenged byDistrict 5 Councilman Curtis Johnson Sr., who is ineligible to run again forhis current seat due to term limits.

In Division B At Large, District 2 Councilman Bill Sirmon Jr. faces District1 Councilman Ellis Alexander, and both are challenged by Clayton “Snookie” Faucheaux Jr., whose father was a parish councilman and grandfather wasa police juror.

With no incumbent in the race, District 1 challengers are Desmond Hiliare, the Rev. Dan Washington Jr. and Terrell “T-Bone” Wilson. In District 2,again with no incumbent, Brian Fabre will face Edilia Kolb.

District 3 Council Member Darnell C. “Dee” Abadie, appointed to the seatafter the resignation earlier this year of Ron Phillips, has earned the seat unopposed for her own term.

In District 4, present Councilman Terry Authment is challenged by former Councilman Danny Somme.

With no incumbent in the race, District 5 has turned out a bumper crop of candidates, including April Black, Harold “Chris” Brimmer, Leslie Carter, James Easley S. and Ricardo Smith.District 6 Councilman Dickie Duhe is not pursuing any other elected office, leaving the field open for Deputy Bobby Colon Jr. and Lance Marino, son ofthe late former Sheriff Johnny Marino.

Finally, in District 7, Councilman at Large Barry Minnich will face Justice of the Peace Irv Sanchez Jr.

ST. JOHN PARISHWith no incumbent in the race for parish president, four candidates have qualified, including two former candidates – Carl “Butch” Baloney and Mike “Coach” Maggoire; Parish Administrator Pat McTopy and District 5 Councilman Nickie Monica.

Sheriff Wayne L. Jones is challenged by past candidate Shannon Penn.With no incumbent in the race for Clerk of Court, four candidates have come forward, including Justice of the Peace Eliana DeFrancesch, Ronnie Fiest, Audrey Holmes and Jeff Montegut, son of the incumbent.

Incumbent Assessor Henry Hotard Jr. is challenged by Dale Madere andLester Millet III, son of former sheriff and parish president Lester Millet Jr.

Another Parish Council shuffle is under way for the parish, as District 2 Councilman Kevin Duhon qualified for Councilman at Large Division A, challenged by former Superintendent of Schools Cleveland Farlough, Charles Julies, the Rev. Wendell Norman Sr. and District 3 CouncilmanClinton “Rock” Perrilloux Incumbent Councilman at Large Division B Duaine Duffy is challenged by Ruben Keating and District 6 Councilman Joel McTopy. Incumbent District1 Councilman Perry Bailey is challenged by Constable Milton Cox Jr. andLester Rainey Jr.

With no incumbent in the race in District 2, eight candidates qualified for that seat, including Remy Amedee, David Beadle, Albert Burl III, Pierre Cambre, Isaiah “Ike” Jones, Chris Ory, former public works director Allen St. Pierre and Norman Voilon.In District 3, Councilman at Large Division A Dale Wolfe is running against Michael Carter. Incumbent District 4 Councilman Ranney Wilson ischallenged by Sid Morgan, and in District 5, with no incumbent in the race, Jobe Boucvalt will face off with Jackie Donaldson.

Again with no incumbent in the race, Lael Alexander, Oja Allen and Melissa Faucheux are contending for the District 6 seat.

Finally, in District 7, incumbent Steven Thornton is challenged by former councilman Steve Lee.

And Virgiie Johnson, Vickie Lewis-Clark and Roger “Flat” Lumar are contending for Justice of the Peace District 1.

ST. JAMES PARISHIncumbent Parish President Dale Hymel Jr. faces two challengers,including former St. James High principal Ridgely Mitchell Jr. and GaryRicks.

Incumbent Sheriff Willy Martin Jr. will face Gramercy police captainClayton “Bubby” Deslatte and S.L. King Jr.Incumbent Assessor Glenn Waguespack will face opposition from Eileen “Candy” Jasmin.

On the Parish Council, only Elwyn Bocz was re-elected without opposition.

In District 2, Timmy Roussel is challenged by Jude Poche. In District 3,Eric Poche is challenged by Timothy “Droopy” Bourgeois, Glenda Jeansonne and Wilson Malbrough Jr.

In District 4, incumbent Ralph Patin Jr. is challenged by Emile “Melo”Augillard Jr. and Richard Burton Jr. In District 5, incumbent Oliver CooperSr. is opposed by Lawrence “LaLo” Ambrose, Charles “I-Spy” Ketchens,James Mitchell and Stanley Vedol.

In District 6, incumbent Elton Aubert is challenged by Wanda Pierre; and in District 7, incumbent Jimmy Brazan is challenged by Henry “T-Hen” Brock.

Return To News Stories