AOL holds annual sports banquet

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, May 19, 1999

MICHAEL KIRAL / L’Observateur / May 19, 1999

LAPLACE – Ascension of Our Lord School celebrated another successful year in sports at its 13th annual Sports Banquet Friday night.

The school celebrated a year in which the varsity volleyball, flag football, girls’ basketball and softball teams completed their seasons as the River Parish Catholic League runners-up.

The girls’ basketball team won the River Parish Catholic League tournament and advanced to the CSAL playoffs. The team also placedsecond at the Our Lady of Grace tournament and the Glade Invitational and third at the St. Joan of Arc tournament. The junior varsity volleyball squad also advanced to the CSAL playoffs and the boys’ sixth-grade basketball team placed third in the playoffs. And thejunior varsity baseball team finished the year undefeated. Of the school’s126 students, 99 participate in at least one sport.

“Each one of these athletes is an image of God,” assistant athletic director Karen Verbeek said.

Athletes were presented awards for playing one, two and three sports.

Special awards were also presented in each sport.

The first group to be honored was the school’s pep squad which had 34 members this year.

“We had a fantastic pep squad this year,” coach Andie Schexnayder said.

“The group was so enthusiastic, so loud. Coaches would come up to us andcommend us on our pep squad.”First year team members for 1998-99 were Lauren Williams, Ashley Bratcher, Abby Caldarera, Gabrielle Washington, Kristen Louque, Jenna Milioto, Ashley Brocato, Brianne Gros, Sarah Laurent, Lindsey Eichhorn, Melissa Newman, Mandi Lockwood, Ellen Morgan, Jamie Barcelona and Danielle Dallimore.

Second year team members were Bridget Boe, Lauryn Burns, Kristen Hoover, Melissa Bolden, Bonnie Dupuy, Amanda Savoie, Elaina Robinson, Katie Fisse, Camille Poche, Megan Miranda, Celeste Varnam, Jill Boudreaux, Haley Kos-ztolanyi, Jennifer Thornton, Ashley Springer, Shelly Schexnayder, Kimberly Sch-exnayder, Lacey Scanlan and Jennifer Wong.

Next up was the 17-member cheerleading squad led by captain Jessica Barcelona and second captain Katie Boehm. First year team members for1998-99 were Tiffany Eddie, Daisy Gurdian, Jessie Landry, Lindsey Loupe, Elise Matherne, Katie Olasin, Laura Beth Tregre and Emily Vollenweider.

Second year members were Jade Brady, Julia Herbert, Ashley Loupe, Nicole Perilloux and Rachel Reuwer. And third year members were ChristinaHanes and Kristin Zwart.

In the individual sports, Katie Olasin was named the MVP of the girls’ volleyball blue (varsity) team. Daisy Gurdian was selected the mostimproved and Heather Heltz received the Coach’s award. Natalie Lambertwas honored with the most spirited award.

For the white (junior varsity) team, Vanessa Eddie was named the MVP.

Christina Hanes was selected as the most improved and Natalie Pilotte received the Coach’s award.

In football, Mike Pecoraro Jr. was named the Best Defensive Player whileScott Trabeaux received the Best Offensive Player award. Pete Oncalereceived the Coach’s award while Daniel LeBlanc was selected as the most improved.

The girls’ basketball team finished its season with a record of 17-5.

“The thing about these girls is that they were the sweetest, nicest, most respectful, hardest working kids you ever want to be around,” coach Andree Gurdian said.

Heather Heltz was named the squad’s Best Offensive Player while Amanda Helm was selected as its Best Defensive Player. Vanessa Eddie receivedthe most improved award while Heather Gamble was honored with the Coach’s award.

Michael Pecoraro was named the Best Defensive Player on the boys’ basketball team. Erik Horne was selected as the squad’s Best OffensivePlayer. Travis Trepagnier received the most improved award while DavidNewman was the recipient of the Coach’s Award.

The softball team was recognized for having lost just one game over the past two seasons. Heather Heltz received the Leadership award while ErinTamplain was named the most improved. The Coach’s award went toBrittany Vicknair while Amanda Helm was named the squad’s top hitter.

In baseball, James Arruebarrena was named the most improved player.

Travis Trepagnier was selected as the team’s MVP while Michael Pecoraro received the Coach’s award.

The Christian Sportsman-ship award was presented by the Rev. BenjaminPiovan to Vanessa Eddie and Pete Oncale. The Academic Athlete award,given to the athletes with the highest grade point average, was awarded by principal Carole Elliot to Katie Olasin and Daniel Babin. Heather Heltzand Travis Trepagnier were named the Athletes of the Year.

Each of the school’s 25 coaches was given a plaque in recognition of their service to the school. Coaches for 1998-99 were Mike Abbate, MichelleBarcelona, Susan Boehm, Timmy Byrd, Marti Caldarera, Ron Dallimore, Karen Duffy, Jill Eichhorn, Vivian Fisher, Andree Gurdian, Kelly Hane, Chris Heltz, Vicky Heltz, Greg Horne, Tina Jeandron, Wayne LeBlanc, Kenny Louque, Mike Pecoraro, Andie Schexnayder, Mark Tamplain, Tommy Toole, JoAnn Torres, Mark Trepagnier, Clyde Verbeek, Karen Verbeek and Duane Waguespack.

Special awards went to Mr. and Mrs. Pat Sellars for the donation of apitching machine and to Mr. and Mrs. Chris Heltz and Diane Vollenweiderfor their donations of softball uniforms.

Elliot presented the Principal’s award to Mike Pecoraro and Karen Verbeek for their dedication.

Return To Sports Stories

Copyright © 1998, Wick Communications, Inc.

Internet services provided by NeoSoft.

Best viewed with 3.0 or higher