Some school board seats decided

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, October 7, 1998

By LEONARD GRAY / L’Observateur / October 7, 1998

LAPLACE – School Board elections across the River Parishes produced a few new faces and runoff elections to come.

In St. John Parish incumbent Russ Wise was defeated and incumbentAleitha Bardell is in a runoff. In St. Charles, two incumbents werereturned to the board and one runoff is set to succeed Michael Henderson; and in St. James, three incumbents face runoffs, while Carol Lambert wonre-election.

Winners and runoff candidates are marked with a in the following list.

Runoff elections will be held Tuesday, Nov. 3.ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISHSchool Board District 4 Aleitha G. Bardell, Reserve. Democrat, 391 votes.Darlene Triche Hall, Reserve. Democrat, 117 votes. Pat Sanders, Reserve. Democrat 374 votes.District 6 Leslie Charles Martin, LaPlace. Democrat, 56 votes. Charles J. Watkins, LaPlace. Democrat, 297 votes.District 8 Richard L. DeLong, LaPlace. Republican, 290 votes.Randall Triche, LaPlace. Democrat, 187 votes.District 11 John Crose, 156 Iber St., LaPlace. Democrat, 254 votes.Russell E. “Russ” Wise, LaPlace. No party affiliation, 189 votes.ST. JAMES PARISHSchool Board District 3 Carol Lambert, Paulina. Democrat, 615 votes.Sally LeBlanc Zimmer, Paulina. Democrat, 433 votes.District 4 Dianne M. Gaudin, Convent. Democrat, 289 votes. George Nassar Jr., Convent. Democrat 420 votes.Vanessa Scott, Gramercy. Democrat, 126 votes.Cynthia Petit Zimmer, Hester. Democrat 107 votes.District 6 Barry R. “Hix” Batiste, Vacherie. Democrat, 100 votes. Charles T. “Charlie” Nailor, Vacherie. Democrat, 479 votes. John “J.B.” Schexnayder, Vacherie. Democrat, 435 votes.District 7 Kathleen “Kitty” Becnel, Vacherie. Democrat, 388 votes.Henry J. Brock, Vacherie. Democrat, 166 votes. Richard “Ricky” Reulet Jr., Vacherie. Democrat, 318 votes.Lazard E. Steib Jr., Vacherie. Democrat, 305 votes.ST. CHARLES PARISHSchool Board District 1 Cindy Brasher, Destrehan. Republican, 304 votes. Alfred Green, Hahnville. Democrat, 704 votes.District 6 Margie Eugene Richard, Norco. Democrat, 348 votes. Ronald J. St. Pierre, Norco. Democrat, 577 votes.District 7 Steve Crovetto, Luling. Democrat, 355 votes.Pam Matus, Luling. Republican, 196 votes.George Sauzer, Luling. Democrat, 272 votes. Freddie L. Seal, Luling. Republican, 294 votes.

Return To News Stories