Poche wins mayor’s seat; some face Nov. 3 runoff

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, October 7, 1998

By LEONARD GRAY / L’Observateur / October 7, 1998

CONVENT – St. James Parish’s municipal elections produced severalrunoffs and a new mayor for Lutcher.

Gramercy’s incumbent mayor, Herman Bourgeois, and chief of police, Kenny Poche, each face runoffs. Incumbent Gramercy aldermen Melissa “Missy”Laurent and Alvin “Shark” St. Pierre won their seats, while Eldridge “Gee”Zeringue won re-election.

Lutcher elected a new mayor, Troas Poche, to succeed Elmore “Moe” Trosclair. Incumbent Lutcher Aldermen Floyd Marshall and Danny Manueleach won re-election, while Thomas George won a seat.

The runoffs will be held on Nov. 3.GRAMERCY Mayor Herman P. Bourgeois, Democrat ,374 votes.Eugene “Gene” Louque, Democrat, 216 votes.

Garland Rome, Democrat, 141 votes.

Ronald A. St. Pierre, Democrat, 436 votes.Chief of Police Andy M. Detillier, Democrat, 30 votes.David P. Dufresne, Democrat, 329 votes. Michael Kahl, Democrat, 426 votes.

Kenny P. Poche, Democrat, 379 votes.Board of Aldermen At-Large (two to be elected) Terry J. Borne, Democrat, 528 votes.John Doucet, Democrat, 501 votes.

Melissa “Missy” Laurent, Democrat, 523 votes.

Clifford “Cliff” Moreau, Democrat, 234 votes.

District 2 Earl J. Deroche, Republican, 156 votes. Eldridge P. “Gee” Zeringue, Democrat, 265 votes.District 3 Barry R. LeBlanc, Democrat, 148 votes.Christine Perrilloux, Democrat, 30 votes.

Alvin “Shark” St. Pierre Jr., Democrat, 163 votes.LUTCHER Mayor Jason P. Amato, Democrat, 764 votes. Troas A. Poche, Democrat, 956 votes.Board of Aldermen At-Large Seat One Grayline “Beaver” Brown, Democrat, 709 votes.

Thomas D. George, Democrat, 980 votes.District 1, Division A Nathaniel “Nat” Jones, Democrat, 220 votes.

Floyd A. Marshall, Democrat, 456 votes.District 1, Division B Alonzo Johnson Sr., Democrat, 212 votes. Danny B. Manuel, Democrat, 470 votes.

Return To News Stories