St. Charles school employees honored

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, September 29, 1998

MICHAEL KIRAL / L’Observateur / September 29, 1998

LULING – St. Charles Parish School Superintendent Rodney Lafon and the St.Charles Parish School Board recognized a number of students and employees at its meeting Wednesday night.

Lafon and the board recognized Allemands Elementary K-2 (principal Sharon Kerlec) and Luling Elementary K-2 (principal Terry Matherne) for meeting 75 percent of their school effectiveness standards.

Each school has effectiveness standards based on nationally normed quality data. The targets have been established to challenge local schoolsto reach a level of performance equal to the most successful schools in the nation. Standards have been established for standardized test scores,teacher and student attendance, ACT scores and drop out rates. Progresstoward standards are monitored each year, and school improvement plans are developed based on that data.

Hahnville High School student Kiel Adams was recognized for qualifying for the Baton Rouge GUMBO (Games Uniting Mind and Body) Invitational. Theinvitational was a state-level competition for students who demonstrated outstanding athletic performance, competitive spirit, confidence and self- discipline.

Matthew Haindle of Lakewood Elementary School was recognized for being selected for the International Youth Art Exchange Program. And CammonMiddle School’s Evan Satterlee has had his drawing selected to appear in the Department of Environmental Quality Anti-Litter Calendar.

Hahnville High School teacher Lloyd Sensat and Luling Elementary School principal Terry Matherne have been selected as the Teacher-in-Residence and Principal-in-Residence, respectively, by Southeastern Louisiana University.

Teachers and employees who have been the recipients of grants were also recognized. Helen Banquer of the Central Office and Mimosa ParkElementary School teacher Jan Moore each received two of Entergy’s Community grants while Mimosa Park Elementary School teacher Debra Gomez received three.

Other recipients of Entergy’s Community grants were Norco Elementary K- 3 teacher Julie Bohnsack, Destrehan High teacher Donald Diodene, Mimosa Park Elementary teachers Mickie Friloux and Josette Sirmon, New Sarpy Elementary teacher Jim Labry, Luling Elementary teachers Jane Petit and Sue Triche, Schoeffner Elementary’s Kathy Long and Central Office’s Ann Folse. Long also received the Lt. Governor’s Learn and Serve grant.In addition to the Entergy grant, Folse also received a Bell South Community grant. Recipients of Bell South mini-grants were Rachel Dyerof Norco Elementary K-3 and Kristen Heidingsfelder and Roseann Jarrell of Allemands Elementary.

Eual J. Landry Middle School and cafeteria manager Gloria Robert wererecognized for being selected for the Meals of Distinction Award for middle and high schools. Lakewood Elementary and cafeteria managerBeulah Markey received the award for elementary schools. And St. CharlesParish School Food Service Association President Marguerite Darensbourg was recognized for being the recipient of the President’s Gold Award at the Louisiana School Food Service Association Annual Conference.

Landry Middle School and principal Billy Picard were honored for being selected for the HOSTS Award for Quality Assurance. And Landis & Staefa,Inc., represented by Mark Eliser, were recognized for donating $2,200 forthe purchase of 10 new band uniforms.

Finally, the district’s cabbage ball team, led by captain Beano Eusea of the Media Center, was declared co-champions for the St. Charles Parish RotaryClub’s Annual Cabbage Ball tournament. Team members were the CentralOffice’s Linda Busfield, Kevin Friloux, Jim Melohn, Danny Roussel and Rusty Walker; Hahnville High School’s Lorel Gonzales and Cathy Riggin; J.B.Martin’s Billi Ann Grisbaum, Lindsey Landry and Erin Raiford; Eual J.

Landry’s Mo Blue Harris; Luling Elementary’s Priscilla Muller; Destrehan High School’s Adam Roussel; Norco Elementary 4-6’s Gloria Singleton; and school board members Wayne Roussel and Clarence Savoie.

Return To News Stories