St. John school officials attend leadership seminar

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, August 5, 1998

L’Observateur / August 5, 1998

RESERVE – St. John Parish School Superintendent Cleveland Farlough and 13 othersprepared themselves for the coming school year at a Leadership Development Institute sponsored by the Louisiana Department of Education. The three-day longevent took place July 28-30 in Metairie.

“The purpose of this workshop was to provide principals and central office personnel with the basic knowledge and skills needed to improve the academic achievement of students and to prepare for the implementation of Louisiana’s Public Education Accountability System,” said Farlough.

These were intensive working sessions which started each morning at 7:30 with registration and did not end until after 8 p.m. most evenings. In addition to Louisiana’sPublic Education Accountability System, topics and activities included school improvement, analysis of school data, sessions on formulating and evaluating measurable goals, curriculum implementation and professional development. Multiplesessions were held where principals and administrators from many school districts had the opportunity to compare notes and share success stories with each other.

“Just as we do with business and local industries, we are working together for the improvement of education in our communities.” said Farlough. “We are always insearch of opportunities to increase our knowledge of the latest in education research.

In this way, we develop better leaders for our schools.”Joining Farlough were Associate Superintendent Chris Donaldson; Director of Elementary Schools Wilbert Ocmond; Director of Title I/External Programs Herbert Smith, Director of Early Childhood/Head Start Stephanie Watkins; Director of Secondary Schools Brenda Butler; principal of East St. John Elementary School, JerryGalloway; principal of Leon Godchaux Junior High School, Jacqueline Forest; principal of the Garyville/Mt. Airy Magnet School, Michael Coburn; principal of the John L. OryMagnet School, Teri Noel; principal of LaPlace Elementary School, Courtney Millet; principal of the St. John Child Development Center, Phyllis Clark; principal of West St.John Elementary School, Shelton Smith; and principal of West St. John High School,Glenda Gaudin.

Back to Top

Back to Leisure Headlines

Copyright © 1998, Wick Communications, Inc.

Internet services provided by NeoSoft.

Best viewed with 3.0 or higher