38 retire from St. Charles schools

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, June 23, 1998

By Michael Kiral / L’Observateur / June 24, 1998

LULING – The St. Charles Parish School Board took time out at its meetingWednesday to honor retiring employees for their dedication to the education of their students.

Thirty-eight employees retired this past year. A reception ceremony washeld in their honor before the meeting at the school board office in Luling.

Each retiree received a brass apple and a certificate.

“Without you, we would not be where we are,” Superintendent Rodney Lafon said in thanking the retirees for their years in the district. “Yourdedication and what you have done have made a difference in the lives of the students. We will miss you.”The retirees included Supervisor of Community Relations Leo Babin and Director of Middle Schools James Taylor. Other retirees were RosalieBeadle, special education aide; Patricia Champagne, parish bus driver; Mary Jean Chester, school librarian media specialist; Annabell Dorsey, food service technicians; Erna Folse, food service technician; and Rhonda Gaudin, middle school teacher.

Also, Sherry Heurtin, middle school teacher; June Inez Howes, school office specialist; William Koll, secondary teacher; Cody Lucia, middle school teacher; Irene Lucia, food service technician; Gladys Norann Marshall, secondary teacher; Angela Matherne, elementary teacher; Carolyn Matherne, elementary teacher; Delone Morgan, elementary teacher; Linda Naquin, kindergarten teacher; Bertha Shanklin, elementary teacher; Mae Grace Shifflet, food service technician; Susan Simon, secondary teacher; Robert Steib, school custodian; Juanita Vick, elementary teacher; Carolyn Winston, elementary teacher; and Phyllis Woods, WICAT teacher/coordinator.

Also, Ruby Barlow, special education teacher; Margie Barron, gifted elementary teacher; Betty Jo Bourgeois, bus contract owner/driver; Blanche Evans, school custodian; Aline Favor, speech therapist; Denise Hillburn, middle school teacher; Denise Lirette, food service technician; Phyllis Mondy, food service secretary; Alice Pfister, school office specialist; Elizabeth Riggs, secondary teacher; Bonita Spencer, food service technician; Earline Spiers, school office specialist; Keith Theriot, elementary principal; and Brenda Tregle, food service manager.

In other business, the board received a presentation on the subsurface drainage improvements at all schools in the district by Hewitt- Washington & Associates. The first volume of the study presentedWednesday focused on the six schools in the district – St. Rose Primary,Albert Cammon Middle, Harry Hurst Middle, Allemands Elementary, Lakewood Elementary and A.A. Songy Kindergarten Center – that have theworst drainage situation. Presentations on the other schools will be madein November and in May 1999. The study includes describing the drainagesituation at each school, discovering any problems, offering solutions and providing cost estimates.

In his report to the board, Lafon said school to career internships have begun for teachers in the system and that teachers will accumulate 400 hours of school-to-career this summer.

Lafon also said the Louisiana Legislature passed the appropriations bill while leaving the district’s hold harmless designation alone. He added thedistrict will continue to keep an eye on it next year.

Return To News Stories