Published 12:00 am Wednesday, April 1, 1998

Michael Kiral / L’Observateur / April 1, 1998

LAPLACE – The St. Charles Catholic Comets placed four players on the All-District 8-III team released recently.

Leading the selections was sophomore forward Allan Doubleday, who was named the district’s most valuable player. Doubleday scored 25 goals thispast season, tying the school record held by Daniel Brignac. Nine of thosegoals were scored in district play. Doubleday also placed second on theteam with eight assists.

“Allan was the key to our season,” St. Charles Catholic coach NormanBrignac said. “When we needed to score a goal, he would do it.”Joining Doubleday on the all-district team were junior midfielder Jason Brignac and senior defender Jeffrey James. Junior defender ChristianPanquerne was named to the honorable mention squad.

Brignac was the team’s assist leader with 13 on the season, including eight in district. Coach Brignac said that it was Brignac that usually setup Doubleday or took it in himself, finishing second on the team with five goals.

James was the team’s defensive leader. Brignac said that when he neededsomeone to shut down the opposition’s top scorer, James was the player he put on him. Brignac called him an unselfish player who did whatever theteam needed him to do.

The same applied to Panquerne. Panquerne tied Brignac with five goals andwas third on the team with six assists. Those numbers could have beenhigher but he was switched from forward to defender during the season.

St. Charles Catholic finished the season with a 9-6-1 record and an 11th-place ranking in the final state polls.

E. D. White placed six players on the team – forward Lee Harris,midfielders Ryan Borne and Eric Tate, sweeper Lee Melvin, stopper Nick Guilliermo and goalie Jacques Gaudet. E.D. White coach Alvin Mahler wasselected as the district coach of the year.

Midfielder Mike Marsiglia and defender Frank Riess of Country Day were also named to the all-district team.

Joining the Comets’ Panquerne on the honorable mention team were Country Day’s Kendall Chauvin, Stephen Millet and Porter Randle; Ecole Classique’s Jeff Servat, John Shulman, Lawrence Leduff and L.J. Trasher;and Ridgewood’s Kevin Campbell.

Return To News Stories