Katie Klibert appointed to Port of South Louisiana Board of Commissioners

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, October 27, 2021

RESERVE — On October 8, 2021, Louisiana Governor John Bel Edwards announced his appointment of Katie Klibert of LaPlace, Louisiana to the Port of South Louisiana Commission. She is filling the position left vacant by Patrick C. Sellars, who passed away on July 22, 2021. Klibert is a native of St. John the Baptist Parish and, along with her husband and son, has lived and worked in the River Region for over 20 years.


Klibert is the community relations and business development manager for Reserve Telecommunications (RTC). With over 16 years of marketing and public relations experience in the telecommunications industry, she is responsible for keeping RTC connected to the culture and communities that its parent company, REV Broadband, the largest private owned telecommunications network in Louisiana, serves.


Klibert currently holds positions on the River Region Chamber of Commerce Board, St. John the Baptist Parish Community Action, Civil Service Board, and the Louisiana Workforce Development area14 Workforce Investment Board -Chair. She is also a member of GNO Inc.’s NextGen Council, designed to introduce new leadership to GNO, Inc., and to develop business leaders with a regional perspective.


Klibert was sworn-in to the position in her home on October 12, 2021 by former Port of South Louisiana Executive Director Joseph Accardo, Jr. “I want to thank my family and friends who have loved and supported me,” said Klibert in a Facebook post about the personal milestone. “In the midst of all of the chaos and destruction that hurricane Ida has caused St. John [the Baptist] Parish and to my home, I still choose to serve.”


“Commissioner Katie Klibert is a welcome addition to the Port of South Louisiana. Her experience in public service and regional business will translate well on the current board,” said Port of South Louisiana Executive Director Paul Aucoin.  “She will be an asset to the Port of South Louisiana and we are looking forward to her contribution to our port’s bright future.”


The board once again is comprised of nine members, with three commissioners residing in each parish within the Port’s jurisdiction: D. Paul Robichaux, P. Joey Murray III, and Ryan Burks of St. Charles Parish; Stanley Bazile, Whitney Hickerson, and Robbie LeBlanc of St. James Parish; and Judy B. Songy, Louis A. Joseph, and Katie Klibert of St. John the Baptist Parish.


Founded in 1960, the Port of South Louisiana is a 54-mile port district on the Mississippi River between New Orleans and Baton Rouge, encompassing the parishes of St. Charles, St. John and St. James. The facilities located within the port’s district consistently handle over a quarter billion short tons of cargo annually, ranking it one of the largest tonnage ports in the Western Hemisphere [and the 16th largest in the world], the nation’s leading grain exporter, and one of the major energy transfer ports in the United States. The Port also owns and operates the Executive Regional Airport [KAPS]. To learn more, visit us at www.portsl.com or follow the Port of South Louisiana on social media.