Election Day is April 4: Registrar of Voters releases important dates

Published 8:33 am Tuesday, February 25, 2020

LAPLACE — Wednesday, March 4 will be the last day to register to vote in person or by mail for the April 4 election, according to the St. John the Baptist Parish Registrar of Voters.

Saturday, March 14 will be the last day to register to vote online at geauxvote.com, and Tuesday, March 31 is the last day to request absentee by mail ballots.

The April 4 election will cover the Democratic and Republican Presidential Preference Primary. Held statewide in the spring of each presidential election year, the Presidential Preference Primary allows registered Democrats and Republicans a voice in selecting their party’s nominee.

The following presidential hopefuls are on the ballot:

Democrat — Michael Bennett, Joseph R. Biden, Michael R. Bloomberg, Steve Burke, “Pete” Buttigieg, John K. Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar, Deval Patrick, Bernard “Bernie” Sanders, “Tom” Steyer, Elizabeth Warren, “Robby” Wells and Andrew Yang.

Republican — Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente, “Bob” Ely, Matthew John Matern, Donald J. Trump and Bill Weld.

Elections for the Democratic and Republican state central committees and executive committees are also held during the Presidential Preference Primary.

In St. John the Baptist Parish, only those registered Democrat in State Representative District 56 (Precincts 5-4 & 5-7) will vote for the District 56 Democratic State Central Committee.

Damon K. Davis of LaPlace and Paul “Joey” Murray III of Destrehan will appear on the ballot for District 56 representative.

Davis is the District 5 representative of the St. John the Baptist Parish Democrats, according to the Louisiana Democratic Party website. Murray is listed as an at-large member representing St. Charles Parish.

Early voting will take place from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. on March 21 and from March 23-28 in St. John Parish. Please note that polls will be closed on Sunday, March 22.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Election Day —Saturday, April 4.

Friday, April 3 is the last day for the Registrar of Voters to receive completed absentee ballots.

The Registrar of Voters is located inside the Edgard Courthouse at 2393 Highway 18 in Edgard. The East Bank Office is located inside the Parish Government Complex at 1811 W. Airline Highway in LaPlace.

For more information, call 985-652-9797, visit sjbparish.com/registrar or email stjohnrova@sos.la.gov.