• 72°

Rotary Club presents awards at annual banquet

LAPLACE — The Rotary Club of LaPlace held its annual banquet and installation of new officers June 11 at Belle Terre Country Club.

Master of Ceremonies was St. John the Baptist Parish Sheriff Mike Tregre, and Jamie Reynolds gave the welcome address.

Robbie Tomeny presented the Stephanie Wilking Outstanding Youth award to Dominique Lewis, a student at West St. John High School, for her involvement in church, school, and community. Tomeny also presented the Delton Arceneaux award for the Citizen of the Year to Bertram Madere for his outstanding community service.

District Attorney Bridget Dinvaut presented Beverly Harris with the Rotary of the Year award.

St. John District Attorney Bridget Dinvaut presented Robert Tamplain with the Rookie of the Year and Beverly Harris with the Rotarian of the Year awards. Dinvaut also presented Paul Harris awards to Poonam Oberoi and Tomeny.

Robbie Tomeny, recipient of the Paul Harris award, presented Bertram Madere with the Delton Arceneaux award.

Guest Speaker for the event was Rotary District Governor Robert Haeuser who shared the Rotary motto for next year, “Rotary connects the World”. Haeuser said that we should unite for lasting change globally, in our communities, and in ourselves. Haeuser also installed the 2019 – 2020 officers.

Oberoi expressed her gratitude for the support she has received this past year, and Gordon Taylor shared his vision for the upcoming year of Rotary.

By Ronny Michel