• 68°

Aol Honors Athletes At Annual Sports Banquet

Michael Kiral / L’Observateur / May 13, 1998

LAPLACE – Ascension of Our Lord School closed out an historical athletic year by honoring the athletes that made the year so memorable at its 12th annual Sports Banquet Friday night.

Ascension of Our Lord’s sports teams went a combined 72-11 during the 1997-98 school year. Its teams won four out of six River Parish Leaguetitles and placed second in one other. Of the 144 students at the school,107 played either one, two or three sports.

“It has been an incredible year for Ascension of Our Lord athletics,” assistant athletic director Karen Verbeek said. “The school should beproud of the support we receive from (pastor) Fr. Benjamin Piovan,principal Carole Elliot, all the way down.”Athletes were presented awards for playing one, two and three sports.

Special awards were also presented in each sport.

The first to be introduced were the school’s pep squad members, who Verbeek said were so loud one game, an opposing coach told her that his players could not hear the plays being called in.

Team members for 1997-98 were Brandee Marzilli, Kimberly Schexnayder, Kitty Hill, Ashley Springer, Alisa Hernandez, Kristen Hoover, Elaina Robinson, Celeste Varnam, Jennifer Wong, Elise Matherne, Shelly Schexnayder, Tiffany Eddie, Camille Poche, Jennifer Thornton, Lacey Scanlan, Danielle Keller, Melissa Bolden, Jill Boudreaux, Megan Miranda, Amanda Savoie, Lauryn Burns, Bridget Boe, Haley Kosztolanyi, Danielle Chappelear, Bonnie Dupuy, Katie Fisse, Jessica Ross, Farren Alexander, Lindsay Torres and Jessie Landry.

Kelly Hane followed by presenting her cheerleading squad. Squad memberwere Jessica Barcelona, Katie Boehm, Christina Hanes, Alyson Lewis, Ashley Loupe, Nicole Perilloux, Rachel Reuwer, Ashley Stein, Melissa Thornton, Whitney Torres, Colleen Vallee, Carrie Webre, Candis Wheat and Kristin Zwart. Cheree Carter and Whitney Torres were presented witheighth-grade trophies as the team’s co-captains.

“I enjoyed working with them very much,” Hane said. “They worked veryhard and showed a lot of enthusiasm.”Coaches Tina Jeandron and JoAnn Torres then presented their volleyball teams. On the blue team, Maria Abbate was named the most valuableplayer, Holly Cassard was chosen as the most improved and Candice Turner received the coaches award.

From the white team that won the River Parishes championship, Michelle Bedoya was named most improved, Heather Heltz was chosen as the most valuable player and Tiffany Felton received the coaches award.

The flag football team won the River Parishes championship and advanced to the finals of the city championships. Jason Waguespack was named theteam’s most valuable player, while Derrick Gaubert received the coaches award from coach Mike Pecoraro.

Tim Treas was selected as the best offensive player while Kevin Blank and Shannon Graver shared best defensive player honors. A specialcontribution award went to team manager Vito Silvestri.

Kristen Abbondante was named the best offensive player on the girls’ basketball team. Coach Rich Abbondante also named Elise Tatje as the bestdefensive player amd Heather Gamble was the most improved player. Thecoaches award went to Heather Heltz.

The boys’ basketball team received plaques to commemorate their Catholic Schools Athletic League championship. The team came within onepoint against Riverside of ending the season undefeated.

“That one loss made us better,” coach Andree Gurdian said. “The reason wewon was because of the way we played together. We worked really hardand it was that closeness that really won everything for us.”Michael Eschette and Marc Becnel received team spirit awards while David LeBlanc received a coaches award and Tim Treas the sixth man award.

Derrick Gaubert received the defensive award and also received a leadership award.

Chance Blank received the offensive award and a coaches award. ShannonGraver also received an award for offense. Kevin Blank and JasonWaguespack were named the team’s most valuable players, with Blank also receiving a team spirit award and Waguespack a leadership award.

The players awarded a plaque to Gurdian as a token of appreciation.

The softball team, under the guidance of Chris Heltz, recently won the River Parishes championship. Heather Heltz was named the team’s mostvaluable player while Amanda Helm was selected as the most improved.

Elise Tatje received the coaches award while Ashley Loupe was awarded the spirit award.

“There is not too much more I can say about these girls,” Heltz said. “Theynever gave up and that is what it takes to be a champion. I am proud ofthem.”The baseball team also won the River Parishes championship recently.

Jason Waguespack was selected as the team’s most valuable player with Travis Trepagnier being named its most improved. Coach Dean Waguespackawarded his coaches award to Brandon Sanchez.

“I am real proud to be a part of them,” Waguespack said. “They had a greatseason and came together and played well.”The Christian Sportsman-ship award, given to the athlete who shows the most leadership and Christian fellowship, went to Chance Blank and Maria Abbate.

David LeBlanc and Holly Cassard received the academic award, given to the eighth grade athlete who has maintained the highest grade point average.

Jason Waguespack and Kaila Bratcher received the Athlete of the Year award given to the school’s outstanding eighth grade athlete.

The festivities concluded with Verbeek giving the coaches gifts in appreciation for their dedication and time.

“I want to thank the coaches,” Verbeek said. “We could not have anathletic department without them.

They are the reason why our kids are so talented and so lucky.”

Return To News Stories