Published 12:00 am Wednesday, April 29, 1998

Michael Kiral / L’Observateur / April 29, 1998

RESERVE – Reserve Christian School honored its athletes that made its last year in the Louisiana Christian Schools Athletic Association a memorable one at its annual sports banquet Saturday night.

Reserve Christian is moving into Class B of the Louisiana High School Athletic Association in the 1998-99 school year.

In its last year in LCSAA, the school won the state volleyball championship while placing second in boys’ basketball and third in girls’ basketball. The softball and baseball teams also qualified for the stateplayoffs this weekend.

Coach Rudy McGee introduced her championship volleyball team of Kristen Loupe, Shannon Walker, Ashley Holmes, Kelly McGee, Katie Millet, Tassie Allemond, Amber Keller and Angela Tucker.

“They worked hard and were rewarded for it,” McGee said of the state championship.

Walker was named the squad’s best offensive player while Loupe received the award for defense. The most improved player award went to KellyMcGee with Ashley Holmes receiving the coach’s award.

McGee also recognized her junior varsity team of Cherie Carbo, Beth Dicharry, Hailey Hammond, Shelly Ford, Sarah Davis, Summer Vicknair and Brittany Dufrene.

Dicharry and Allemond were selected as the best offensive and defensive players, respectively. Hammond was named the most improved playerwhile the coach’s award went to Keller.

Coach Mary Ellen Tucker then introduced her cheerleading squad of Holmes, McGee, Carbo, Donyelle Loiacano, Millet, Vicknair, Davis, Ashley Gross and Dufrene.

“They are really good athletes and great cheerleaders,” Tucker said. “As acoach, when you get a group of athletes who you never have to ask twice to do something, you consider yourself blessed and I was blessed.”The outstanding cheerleader award went to McGee. Loiacano was selectedas the most improved cheerleader while Holmes received the coach’s award.

Administrator Raymond Goodman then announced that head basketball coach Timmy Byrd had been named the school’s athletic director. Byrd ledthe Eagles to the state finals during the 1997-98 season.

“I want to thank my dad,” Byrd said of Ronny Byrd, who served as the basketball team’s assistant coach. “Everything I am about is because ofhim. We truly had a great bunch of boys. They were a joy to coach.”Lettering for boys’ basketball were George Maurin, Cliff Vogel, Michael Carriere, Aaron Vogel, Jared Simoneaux, Neal Johnson, Jonathan Newman, Matt McGee and Addison Ellis. Junior varsity members included JustinDelatte, Daniel Bashta, Kevin Phipps and Matthew Murphy.

For the junior varsity, Johnson and Newman were selected best offensive and best defensive players, respectively. Most improved went toSimoneaux, while McGee received the coach’s award.

The varsity’s best offensive player award went to Cliff Vogel while Carriere was selected as the best defensive player. McGee was named themost improved player while the coach’s award went to Aaron Vogel.

Goodman announced his retirement after five years of coaching the girls’ basketball team. Over the past four years, Goodman has led the Lady Eaglesto a 61-19 record and first, second and third-place finishes in the state playoffs. Mike Marix has been hired to coach all girls’ sports next season.Goodman then introduced his team of Jessica Dufrene, Loupe, Katie Pitre, Hammond, Dicharry, Keller, Krystal Hicks, Allemond, Ericka Ledezma, Jerry Muller, Ford, Tanisha Williams, Brittany Dufrene, Tucker and Jessica Bertucci.

Bertucci was selected as the team’s most improved player, while Allemond was named the best defensive player and Allemond received the coach’s award. Jessica Dufrene was named the best offensive player andreceived a basketball commemorating her three first team and one second team all-state selections.

Head softball coach Brandon Dufrene followed with his team of Pitre, Jessica Dufrene, Millet, Ford, Keller, Rachel Coenen, Tucker, Vicknair, Tara Goudeau, Davis, Misty McTopy, Jennifer Mire, Natalie Simon and Lindsey Green.

The best offensive and defensive player awards went to Keller and Millet, respectively. The most improved player was Goudeau while the coach’saward went to Pitre.

Brian Sullivan concluded the awards by announcing his baseball squad of Nick Riley, Aaron Grant, Cliff Vogel, Carriere, James Hardeman, Dustin Young, Aaron Vogel, Jeremy LeBlanc, Samuel Hardeman, Chris Sheppard, Brandon Blakes, Justin Schlesinger, Nathan Louque and Justin Delatte.

LeBlanc was named the team’s most improved player while Riley received the coach’s award. Cliff Vogel was named the team’s best defensive playerwhile Samuel Hardeman, who led the Eagles with a .363 batting average,was selected as the best offensive player.

Riley, Jessica Dufrene, Loupe, Pitre, Adam Gross and Cliff Vogel were each presented with senior awards.

The banquet concluded with a video presentation showcasing the highlights of the past year.

Return To News Stories